Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute

Creating a Talent Pipeline of Diverse Leaders


An executive development program to build Indiana’s talent pipeline of senior professionals and board members within foundations and corporate giving programs.

The John Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute identifies and develops transformational philanthropic leaders in Indiana. This cohort-based program provides a continuing education training experience that prepares future leaders for board and executive roles at foundations and corporations serving communities across Indiana. With each Mutz Institute cohort, we aim to:
  1. Bring new ideas and fresh perspectives to the existing philanthropic community. 
  2. Support emerging philanthropic leaders through educational and professional development. 
  3. Elevate Indiana’s philanthropic field.
  4. Create a network representative of Indiana's diverse communities.


“For emerging and aspiring leaders in philanthropy, as I was more than a decade ago, the wisdom, practical advice, and example that John [Mutz] offered gave me the skills I needed to succeed."
—Jamie Merisotis, CEO of Lumina Foundation.



The Mutz Institute is named after IPA founder John M. Mutz, whose life exemplifies philanthropy, citizenship, and excellence. John Mutz has been president of Lilly Endowment Inc., Lt. Governor of Indiana, and a corporate CEO. Go here to learn more about this Indiana visionary and watch our video below.

Mutz Institute is made possible by Lumina Foundation and IU Lilly Family School of Philanthropy


IPA is proud to announce the first cohort of the Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute. Those selected include twenty-four class members from thirteen Indiana counties. They represent a mix of foundations, corporations, and social impact organizations.

Those selected for the 2021 Mutz Institute class include the following:

  1. Josh Abel, Director of Grants Administration & Legal Counsel, Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust, from Marion County
  2. Courtney Arango, External Communications Manager, IPL, from Hendricks County
  3. Amy Casavant; Foundation President and Sustainability, Vice President; Old National Bank; from Vanderburgh County
  4. Nicole Chase, Corporate Responsibility Consultant, Eli Lilly Co., from Marion County
  5. Dr. Mary Jane Eisenhauer, Professor & Interim Associate Director, Purdue University Northwest, from Porter County
  6. Nathan Hand, Chief Advancement Officer, The Oaks Academy, from Boone County
  7. George Hanlin, Director of Grants, Indiana Humanities, from Marion County
  8. Tiffannie Hedin, Corporate Communications Analyst, Toyota Motor Manufacturing of Indiana, from Vanderburgh County
  9. Brienne Hooker, Executive Director, Jasper Newton Foundation, from Jasper County
  10. Madolyn Howe, Community Affairs Director, One America, from Hamilton County
  11. Nick Ison, Corporate Giving Manager, Goodwill of Central & Southern Indiana, from Marion County
  12. Jannett Keesling, Chief Executive Officer, Keys2Work, from Marion County
  13. Monica Koechlein; Executive Director (RSO), President (SKFF); Richmond Symphony Orchestra; from Wayne County
  14. Dr. Josh Kornberg, Executive Director, Caesars Foundation of Floyd County, from Clark County
  15. Richard McCoy, Executive Director, Landmark Columbus Foundation, from Marion County
  16. Brian McGrath, Vice President of External Relations, EdChoice, from Hamilton County
  17. Kristin Munn, Director of Development, Heritage Fund - The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County, from Bartholomew County
  18. Chandra Orr, Executive Assistant, 16 Tech Community Corporation, from Marion County
  19. Ashley Parker, Senior Property Manager, Buckingham Companies, from Marion County
  20. Dr. Joni Schmalzried, Chief Program Officer, AWS Foundation, from Huntington County
  21. Danielle Stiles-Polk, Executive Director of Development, Ivy Tech Community College, from Hamilton County
  22. Cassandra Tice, Grants Officer, IU Health Foundation, from Marion County
  23. Brandon Wells, Executive Director, Putnam County Community Foundation, from Owen County
  24. Alisa Winters, Executive Director, Rush County Community Foundation, from Rush County

Who Should Apply

Excellent candidates for the Mutz Institute are senior leaders and board members in philanthropy, as well as those seeking to hold those roles in the future. This includes public sector officials and high-potential individuals at foundations, corporations, and nonprofit organizations.

The Mutz Institute seeks to eliminate historical inequities and welcomes those with alternate backgrounds. Every effort will be made to have a diverse class composed of individuals with a wide range of experiences.

Successful applicants will possess self-motivation and strong character. They will have achieved recognition for service in their community or performance in the field of philanthropy and will have shown a willingness to serve others. Successful candidates should demonstrate the potential for future success and service to their communities, as well as a willingness to translate the benefits of the program into a greater level of participation in philanthropic organizations. 


Each participant will be responsible for the following:

  • Pay tuition and associated travel expenses. Tuition is $1,000 for IPA members or $2,500 for non-IPA members.
  • Sell a table for the Symposium event recognizing the Mutz Institute class. 
  • Attend all class sessions and give their full attention to the class. There must be no conflict between a participant’s employer and the required attendance.
  • Encourage participation in future Mutz Institute cohorts to others in your network
  • Increase their involvement in their community.

How to Apply

Applications for the 2022 Mutz Institute cohort are due no later than 12:00 p.m. ET on Friday, October 29, 2021.

Download the application below for detailed instructions on how to apply and submission requirements. Please note that submitting your application does not guarantee placement. An IPA selection committee will evaluate all written applications, interview potential candidates, and select qualified applicants.

Please contact Holly M. Davis by email or call (317) 519-5391 with any questions.


You are not authorized to access this content.