Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute

Learn From the Best & Elevate Your Leadership

Building Indiana’s talent pipeline of senior professionals and board members within foundations and corporate giving programs.

The John Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute identifies and develops transformational philanthropic leaders in Indiana. This cohort-based program provides a continuing education training experience that prepares future leaders for board and executive roles at foundations and corporations serving communities across Indiana. With each Mutz Institute cohort, we aim to:

  1. Bring new ideas and fresh perspectives to the existing philanthropic community. 
  2. Support emerging philanthropic leaders through educational and professional development. 
  3. Elevate Indiana’s philanthropic field.
  4. Create a network representative of Indiana's diverse communities.


Highlights from 2022 Mutz Institute

  • Face time with some of the most influential people in the state, including those in economic development, community development, business, higher education, nonprofits, and politics.
  • Real-talk on media pitches from Indianapolis Business Journal, IndyStar, Axios, and VOX Global.
  • Big idea talks with CivicLab, Mission Investment Exchange, and the IU Lilly Family School of Philanthropy.
  • Experts shed light on systems change, trust-based philanthropy, being data informed, impact investing, corporate social responsibility, and environment, social, and governance (ESG).


Support Future Participants

Financial constraints should not be barriers for participants. In collaboration with The Putnam County Community Foundation, the Mutz Institute Class of 2021 pooled resources to establish an endowment for future participants. Please contribute today to ensure equitable access for decades to come at



The Mutz Institute is named after IPA founder John M. Mutz, whose life exemplifies philanthropy, citizenship, and excellence. John Mutz has been president of Lilly Endowment Inc., Lt. Governor of Indiana, and a corporate CEO. Go here to learn more about this Indiana visionary.


Who Should Apply

Excellent candidates for the Mutz Institute are senior leaders and board members in philanthropy, as well as those seeking to hold executive roles in the future. This includes public sector officials and high-potential individuals at foundations, corporations, and nonprofit organizations. 

The Mutz Institute seeks a diverse class composed of individuals with a wide range of experiences. Successful applicants will possess self-motivation and strong character. They will have achieved recognition for service in their community or performance in the field of philanthropy and will have shown a willingness to serve others. Successful candidates should demonstrate the potential for future success and service to their communities, as well as a willingness to translate the benefits of the program into a greater level of participation in philanthropic organizations. 


Tuition cost is $1,000 for IPA members and $2,500 for non-members. Download the application below to see other participant responsibilities. 

Cost should never be a barrier. Those who bring diversity of thought and experience bring different gifts. We will work with accepted applicants to eliminate the cost barrier.

How to Apply

Applications for the 2023 Mutz Institute cohort are due no later than 12:00 p.m. E.T. on Thursday, October 27, 2022. 

Download the application below for detailed instructions on how to apply and submission requirements. Please note that submitting your application does not guarantee placement. An IPA selection committee will evaluate all written applications, interview potential candidates, and select qualified applicants.

Please email or call (317) 519-5391 with any questions.



The second cohort of the Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute includes 23 individuals from seven Indiana counties. They represent a mix of foundations, corporations, and social impact organizations.

Those selected for the 2022 Mutz Institute class include:

  1. Whitney Amuchastegui, Executive Director of Su Casa from Bartholomew County
  2. Abbie Bush, Director of Grant Programs of Indiana Bar Foundation from Hamilton County
  3. Abigail Coleman, Senior Writing Associate of Johnson, Grossnickle and Associates (JGA) from Marion County
  4. Lucy Dold, Executive Assistant of Community Foundation of White County from White County
  5. Michele Dole, Senior Fiduciary Strategist of Key Bank and Adjunct Faculty of Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy from Hamilton County
  6. Johnnie Edwards, President of NAACP from Bartholomew County
  7. Juan Galeano, Program Officer of The Clowes Fund from Marion County
  8. Alison Gerardot, Vice President of Philanthropic Services and Women's Fund Coordinator of Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne from Allen County
  9. Hannah Giere, Development Manager of Community Health Network Foundation from Marion County
  10. De'Niece Harrison-Hudson, Community Affairs Director of OneAmerica from Marion County
  11. Charlotte Hawthorne, Director, Social Impact of Eli Lilly and Company and Vice President of Lilly Foundation from Marion County
  12. Steve Holwerda, Vice President of Development of EdChoice from Marion County
  13. Karissa Hulse, Program Manager of IU Health Foundation from Marion County
  14. Danka Klein, Executive Director of Union County Foundation from Union County
  15. Amber Ewing Kostoff, Chief Philanthropy Officer of School on Wheels from Hamilton County
  16. Catherine Lockhart, Community Relations Manager of AES Indiana from Marion County
  17. Jonathon Maple, Executive Director of Margaret Mary Health Foundation from Ripley County
  18. Kami Nielsen, Senior Program Officer of Richard M. Fairbanks Foundation from Marion County
  19. Dani Rich, Program Officer of Don Wood Foundation from Allen County
  20. Lauren Rochester, Director of Grant Development of Ivy Tech Foundation from Marion County
  21. Larry Smith, Director of Development of Hamilton County Community Foundation from Hamilton County
  22. Ruth Stone, President and Founder of CDO Consulting Group from Allen County
  23. Amy Streator, Executive Director of Ripley County Community Foundation from Ripley County


Go here to see the 2021 Mutz Institute class

You are not authorized to access this content.