Member News

Indiana Academy Celebrates 50 Years, Inducts Philanthropy Leader for their Contributions to Private Higher Education in Indiana

Friday, October 29, 2021
Left to Right: Dr. David Wantz, Martha Lamkin, Patty Grant, Dr. Dave McFadden

The Community Foundation of Wabash County celebrates as Executive Director Patty Grant was honored on October 18th at the Independent Colleges of Indiana Gala with induction into the Indiana Academy 50th Anniversary class. 

Manchester University President Dave McFadden nominated Grant for her service to advance educational attainment in various capacities throughout her 30-year tenure at the Community Foundation.

“Patty is someone who is deeply committed to the power of individuals to make change,” McFadden said in the introduction video that was shown at the event (view the video here).

He noted that one of her biggest accomplishments has been leading the design and development of the Community Foundation’s Early Award Scholarship Program, which awards scholarships to students in the 4th-8th grades and encourages saving for college through 529 college savings accounts. “The biggest outcome is not the dollars, but the sense for these kids that college is possible,” said McFadden. “She’s planting seeds for a long-term return that’s going to benefit all of higher education in Indiana.”

“I am honored to be recognized by the Indiana Academy and grateful to Manchester University President Dave McFadden for nominating me,” Grant said. “It is a joy to encourage more Indiana residents to pursue post-secondary education by focusing on Indiana’s excellent offerings. Wabash County is fortunate to house one of Indiana’s best.”

Grant continued by expressing gratitude for the community around her. “I share this recognition with the board and staff of the Community Foundation, who share a passion for advancing Wabash County and Indiana through educational attainment. My induction to the Indiana Academy is an honor I treasure, and I am grateful to my family and many others who have encouraged and supported my efforts.”

The Indiana Academy was established in 1970 by the Independent Colleges of Indiana to recognize individual leadership, achievement, and philanthropy designed to promote the advancement of the state, as well as its independent sector of higher education. Indiana Academy honorees are recognized annually for lifetimes of achievement and contribution to the state of Indiana. Members of the Academy demonstrate exceptional leadership in philanthropy, business, public service, advancement of the sciences, the arts, literature, culture, and scholarship in connection with Indiana’s independent non-profit colleges and universities. 

The eight members honored at this year’s gala included: 

  • Earl Goode, Chief of Staff, Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb
  • Patricia Grant, Executive Director, Community Foundation of Wabash County
  • William Shrewsberry, Founder, Shrewsberry & Associates, LLC
  • Max Siegel, Chief Executive Officer, USA Track & Field
  • Dennis Bland, President, Center for Leadership Development
  • Sara Bushe Cobb, retired Vice President for Education, Lilly Endowment, Inc. 
  • John Dunn, Chairman and CEO, Dunn Hospitality Group
  • Linda E. White, Chief Administrative Officer, Deaconess Henderson Hospital
Find More By
News type 
Member News
Indiana Arts Commission Awards $20,000 Grants to Support Arts Programming for Older Adults 
June 05, 2024
Member News
Community Foundation of Boone County Awards Nearly $100,000 to Grantees
June 05, 2024
Member News
Community Foundation of Whitley County Announces Spring / Summer Grants
June 05, 2024
Member News
Fountain City Forward Announces Little Free Library
May 31, 2024