IPA News

Nominations for the Hazelett Award Have Been Extended to April 13

Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Find More By
News type 

In recognition of the unprecedented times we are navigating and the great need for those in the philanthropic community to turn their attention toward the COVID-19 response, IPA has decided to extend the deadline for nominations for the Hazelett Award For Leadership in Grantmaking to April 13th. We hope this extension will give sufficient time for those who are still interested to submit their nominations. 

Is there someone you admire and respect that deserves to be recognized? If so, please consider honoring them by nominating them for the Hazelett Award for Leadership in Grantmaking. This award recognizes the efforts of a leader in grantmaking.

Nominations are due April 13. You may access the nomination form here. The winner will be recognized at IPA's 2020 conference this June.


The Hazelett Award is named for Susie Hazelett, who served the grantmaking community as an executive director in the community, public, and private sectors until her untimely death in 2004. The award is presented by IPA to someone who exemplifies Susie’s personal high standards, devotion to philanthropy, and leadership and mentoring skills.

The grantmaker selected will embody the spirit of philanthropy displayed by Susie Hazelett. Those characteristics include:

  • A giving spirit displayed by mentoring and nurturing professional development in others
  • A giver of time, talent, and other resources
  • A strong professional with the highest of standards
  • Integrity
  • Creativity

If you have questions, please reach out to me at aforrer@inphilanthropy.org or call 703.328.2530.

Find More By
News type 
IPA Blog
With Bonds Paying Next to Nothing, Should We Bother Owning Them Today?
April 23, 2021
IPA Blog
Nonprofit Board Membership: It’s a Real Job
April 22, 2021
Member News
Community Foundation of Southern Indiana Makes First Quality of Place Grant
May 14, 2021
Member News
Daleville’s Melissa Crist recognized with Ball Brothers Foundation’s Excellence in Teaching Award
May 13, 2021