Member News

Community Foundation of Jackson County Welcomes New Board Members

Thursday, June 23, 2022
Jill Glover, Trina Tracy, and David Waskom

Jill Glover, Trina Tracy, and David Waskom recently joined the Community Foundation of Jackson County's Board of Directors. Leaving the board after 10 years of service were Susan Bevers, Andy Royalty, and Ron Sibert.

“The Board of Directors of the Community Foundation of Jackson County was pleased to welcome our new members,” Bruce Wynn, new board chair, said. “We are honored that they are willing to share their time and talents with the Community Foundation and that they see the value of the foundation for all citizens of Jackson County.”

The foundation administers more than 200 funds that provide earnings to finance grants and scholarships to programs and high school graduates throughout Jackson County. Members of the board of directors help the foundation in many ways, from sharing its story with the community to participating in the grant and scholarship review processes. They also help with fundraising, a vital part of every nonprofit organization.

The April board meeting also brought new officers in leadership positions. Wynn is the new board chair and Ann Windley is the new board vice chair. Mike Fleetwood continues as board treasurer and Dennis Wayman as board secretary. 

The foundation looks forward to putting the new board members—Glover, Tracy and Waskom—to work. Each bring their own personalities, expectations and experiences to the board along with a shared interest in serving the community. All three have some familiarity with the foundation and its work.

Glover pointed to the work of the foundation as a reason for her interest in joining the board.

“I have seen how beneficial the community foundation is in Jackson County, and I would love to be a part of serving and also getting to know more people and organizations throughout Jackson County,” she added.

Glover is employed with her family business, Schneider Nursery, and has been involved with the Purdue Extension Board, Immanuel Lutheran Church and the Indiana Nurserymen and Landscape Association. She will join the foundation’s Grant Committee.

This is Tracy’s second time to serve with the foundation’s board. She said she feels even more prepared and ready to get to work.

“I feel like I am at a point in life that I can contribute more time, experience and money than the first time around,” Tracy said. She is a financial advisor at her firm, Vision Financial Group. Tracy will become part of the foundation’s Scholarship Committee.

Waskom said he is eager to become involved with what he called the “important work of the foundation,” contending it will be a great opportunity to give back to the community. He is a Leadership Jackson County graduate and a former board member of the Seymour Youth League.

Waskom is the chief financial officer with Premier Ag and will be part of the foundation’s Finance & Investment Committee.

Representing all of Jackson County on the board is important to the foundation’s mission and work. When the foundation was created in 1992, those founding directors made it clear that the organization would serve all of Jackson County, not just Brownstown or Seymour.

The foundation’s bylaws reflect that commitment. They map out representation from all corners of the county and communities in between. Selection of board members ensures that goal, Andy Royalty, outgoing board chair, said.

“The foundation strives to reach all across Jackson County, and the board of directors is vital to our continued success in helping the community,” added Royalty, who came onto the board in 2012.  “The expertise and knowledge of each director is fundamental to continue to provide for citizens of Jackson County for generations to come.”

Foundation President & CEO Dan Davis said the outgoing board members will be missed.

“Susan, Andy, and Ron helped us meet our missions,” Davis said. “They have all been tireless in their work with our grant, governance, executive, development, and scholarship committees. They have been instrumental in sharing the story of work with others in the community and building interest in that work. We appreciate that they will continue to share our story as the Foundation continues to grow better tomorrows."

Davis said Bevers was an active participant on the Grant Committee and as the chair for several years now of the Governance Committee. Board member Andrew Nehrt has replaced her as chair of governance.

“I’m not sure where our Gift of Grain program and our outreach to the farm community would be without Ron’s help and ample Rolodex of the farm community,” Davis added. “And of course Andy is also finishing his two-year term as board chair. Andy was always quick with a response and was helpful as we navigated several components of the Lilly Endowment Inc. GIFT VII program the past two years and of course as we worked through the COVID-19 pandemic and its challenges to the Foundation and other community as a whole.”

Find More By
News type 
Member News
Allen County Public Library Receives over $1 Million Grant from Foellinger Foundation
December 08, 2023
General News
United Way Northwest Indiana’s Level Up Receives Major Boost From Donors
December 08, 2023
Member News
AWS Foundation Announces $1,093,384 in Grants
December 08, 2023
Member News
Fairbanks Foundation Commits Nearly $10 Million More in Funding for Marion County High Schools to Increase College Enrollment
December 08, 2023