General News

Jasper to Receive Indiana Chamber’s 2018 Community of the Year Honor; First of Four Annual Awards Revealed in Weekly September Announcements

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Embracing “the Jasper Way” in business, education and quality of life pursuits has earned Jasper the Indiana Chamber of Commerce’s 2018 Community of the Year award.

Jasper’s rich German heritage and manufacturing history remain the lifeblood of the community. But its success also is dependent on its ability to look ahead and adapt.

Approximately $200 million in current projects – primarily public-private partnerships – is propelling the city forward. Among those initiatives:

  • The Parklands of Jasper: a 75-acre major urban renewal endeavor featuring two miles of walking trails (including a multi-purpose path), three ponds (all connected by elevated pathways), The Pavilion (an indoor public event space seating 160 people), an adventure play area, musical playground and more.
  • Thyen-Clark Cultural Center: new facility that will house the Jasper Community Arts and Jasper Public Library.
  • Jasper River Centre: a $30 million mixed use development along the Patoka Riverfront. It will include a new hotel and redevelopment of a former factory into 70-plus apartments, retail/office space and public areas.

Jasper Mayor Terry Seitz comments on the Community of the Year designation’s significance: “To be named the (Community of the Year) recipient is a culmination of years of vision, planning and execution by hundreds of people. We are indeed honored.”

“Strong public-private partnerships are at the cornerstone of community success,” says Indiana Chamber President Kevin Brinegar. “Jasper leaders have demonstrated the ability to work together for many years and residents have strongly contributed through their immense pride in their city. Jasper is most deserving of this recognition.”

The celebration of Hoosier success at the Indiana Chamber’s 29th Annual Awards Dinner, presented by Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield, on November 13 at the Indiana Convention Center will include presentation of three additional awards: Dynamic Leader, Government Leader and Business Leader of the Year. The winners of those awards will be announced in the next three weeks (September 11, 18 and 25, respectively).

J.D. Vance, author of #1 New York Times best-selling memoir Hillbilly Elegy and focused on supporting business development in the Midwest, will keynote the Awards Dinner. Purchase tables of 10 or individual tickets at or by calling Nick at (800) 824-6885.

The opening reception sponsor is PNC. The speaker reception sponsor is Hirons Advertising, Public Relations, Digital.

Corporate sponsors are AT&T Indiana; CBRE; French Lick Resort; NIPSCO; OneAmerica; Tilson; and Zimmer Biomet.

Contributing sponsors are AECOM Hunt; Allison Transmission; Community Health Network; Disher; DowAgroSciences; FedEx; Fineline Printing Group; IGT Indiana; Indiana Soybean Alliance/Indiana Corn Marketing Council; Indiana Wesleyan University; Inside INdiana Business with Gerry Dick; KERAMIDA Inc.; The Kroger Co; Markey’s Rental & Staging; MCM CPAs & Advisors; Pacers Sports & Entertainment; Roche Diagnostics Corporation; Subaru of Indiana Automotive, Inc.; Vectren; Vera Bradley; WFYI Productions; and WGU Indiana.

Additional sponsorships are available by contacting Jim Wagner at (317) 264-6876 or

Media interested in covering the event should contact Rebecca Patrick at (317) 264-6897 or

The most recent Indiana Chamber of Commerce Community of the Year recipients:

2017: Goshen
2016: Fishers
2015: Carmel
2014: Bloomington
2013: Bedford
2012: Indianapolis
2011: Kokomo
2010: Terre Haute
2009: Valparaiso
2008: Noblesville

Find More By
News type 
IPA Blog
How to Overcome Three Common Investment Committee Pitfalls
August 13, 2021
Member News
Community Foundation of Elkhart County Awards $3.6 Million in Grants
October 20, 2021
Member News
Don Wood Foundation Staff Expands
October 19, 2021
Member News
AWS Foundation Welcomes Mandy Drakeford as Program Officer
October 14, 2021