IPA News

IPA Announces First Cohort of Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute

Friday, January 15, 2021
Find More By
News type 

IPA is proud to announce the first cohort of the John M. Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute. Set to convene virtually January 21, 2021, Mutz Institute aims to skill-up professionals serving in board and executive roles at foundations, corporations and social impact organizations across Indiana. 

“We are living through one of the most taxing times in our history, and Indiana must have a new wave of sharp minds across the entire philanthropic sector who are prepared to make substantial impact—ranging from education to economic development,” said Claudia Cummings, president and CEO of Indiana Philanthropy Alliance. “This program allows us to honor IPA founder, John Mutz, while developing a talent pipeline of diverse philanthropic leaders.”

Classes meet once a month until October 2021. The twenty-four class members hail from thirteen Indiana counties. 

The following have been chosen for acceptance into the class of 2021 Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute: 

  1. Josh Abel, Director of Grants Administration & Legal Counsel, Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust, from Marion County
  2. Courtney Arango, External Communications Manager, IPL, from Hendricks County
  3. Amy Casavant; Foundation President and Sustainability, Vice President; Old National Bank; from Vanderburgh County
  4. Nicole Chase, Corporate Responsibility Consultant, Eli Lilly Co., from Marion County
  5. Dr. Mary Jane Eisenhauer, Professor & Interim Associate Director, Purdue University Northwest, from Porter County
  6. Nathan Hand, Chief Advancement Officer, The Oaks Academy, from Boone County
  7. George Hanlin, Director of Grants, Indiana Humanities, from Marion County
  8. Tiffannie Hedin, Corporate Communications Analyst, Toyota Motor Manufacturing of Indiana, from Vanderburgh County
  9. Brienne Hooker, Executive Director, Jasper Newton Foundation, from Jasper County
  10. Madolyn Howe, Community Affairs Director, One America, from Hamilton County
  11. Nick Isom, Corporate Giving Manager, Goodwill of Central & Southern Indiana, from Marion County
  12. Jannett Keesling, Chief Executive Officer, Keys2Work, from Marion County
  13. Monica Koechlein; Executive Director (RSO), President (SKFF); Richmond Symphony Orchestra; from Wayne County
  14. Dr. Josh Kornberg, Executive Director, Caesars Foundation of Floyd County, from Clark County
  15. Richard McCoy, Executive Director, Landmark Columbus Foundation, from Marion County
  16. Brian McGrath, Vice President of External Relations, EdChoice, from Hamilton County
  17. Kristin Munn, Director of Development, Heritage Fund - The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County, from Bartholomew County
  18. Chandra Orr, Executive Assistant, 16 Tech Community Corporation, from Marion County
  19. Ashley Parker, Senior Property Manager, Buckingham Companies, from Marion County
  20. Dr. Joni Schmalzried, Chief Program Officer, AWS Foundation, from Huntington County
  21. Danielle Stiles-Polk, Executive Director of Development, Ivy Tech Community College, from Hamilton County
  22. Cassandra Tice, Grants Officer, IU Health Foundation, from Marion County
  23. Brandon Wells, Executive Director, Putnam County Community Foundation, from Owen County
  24. Alisa Winters, Executive Director, Rush County Community Foundation, from Rush County

The Mutz Institute is named for former Indiana Lieutenant Governor, past Lilly Endowment Inc. president, corporate CEO and Indiana visionary John M. Mutz.

“For emerging and aspiring leaders in philanthropy, as I was more than a decade ago, the wisdom, practical advice, and example that John offered gave me the skills I needed to succeed,” said Jamie Merisotis, CEO of Lumina Foundation and program supporter.


Find More By
News type 
Member News
Addressing Rensselaer's Rural Child Care Shortage
January 25, 2022
IPA Blog
Diverse Philanthropy in Times of Change
January 25, 2022
IPA News
Indiana Philanthropy Alliance Hires Director of Member Programs
January 24, 2022
Statehouse News
Statehouse News
January 24, 2022