Day at the Statehouse

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 -
8:00am to 11:00am EST
Indianapolis, Indiana
Indiana Statehouse, 4th Floor, 200 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Add to Calendar
Find More By
Event type 

Advocate for philanthropy in Indiana—and issues important to philanthropy—with a strong, unified voice.

We need to ensure new members of our legislature, along with their seasoned colleagues, understand the value of philanthropy to our communities, our state, and even our country.

Join your colleagues in philanthropy on January 29, 2020, from 8-11 a.m., at the Indiana Statehouse to meet with legislators and policymakers. 

IPA's Day at the Statehouse takes place on a committee hearing day. Legislators will come and go as they move to committee meetings. You are welcome to do the same, as your schedule allows. We will contact legislators from your districts to let them know you are attending. Additionally, for your conversations, we will provide talking points, updates on bills pertinent to philanthropy this session, and information regarding philanthropy’s impact in Indiana.

In addition to inviting your legislators, we have invited the Governor’s office and leaders from key state agencies, including the Department of Workforce Development, Department of Education, Family and Social Services Administration, Office of the Attorney General, Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Office of Early Childhood and Out-of-School Learning, and the Indiana Division of Mental Health and Addiction.

We will send details for the day closer to the event. If you have questions, please contact Holly M. Davis, Vice President of External Relations, at, or 317.630-5200 x. 117.

Confirmed Attendees

  • State Senator Ron Alting (R-Lafayette)
  • State Senator Brian Buchanan (R-Lebanon)
  • State Senator Jim Buck (R-Kokomo)
  • State Senator Justin Busch (R-Ft. Wayne)
  • State Senator John Crane (R-Avon)
  • State Senator Blake Doriot (Syracuse)
  • State Senator JD Ford (D-Indianapolis)
  • State Senator Jon Ford (R-Terre Haute)
  • State Senator Mike Gaskill (R-Pendleton)
  • State Senator Eric Koch (R-Bedford)
  • State Senator Tim Lanane (D- Anderson)
  • State Senator Mark Messmer (R-Jasper)
  • State Senator Dennis Kruse (R-Auburn)
  • State Senator Jeff Raatz (R-Richmond)
  • State Senator John Ruckelshaus (R-Indianapolis)
  • State Senator Victoria Spartz (R-Noblesville)
  • State Senator Karen Tallian (D-Ogden Dunes)
  • State Senator Greg Taylor (D-Indianapolis)
  • State Senator Andy Zay (R-Huntington)
  • State Representative Bob Cherry (R-Greenfield)
  • State Representative Beau Baird (R-Greencastle)
  • State Representative Woody Burton (R-Whiteland)
  • State Representative Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty)
  • State Representative John Bartlett (D-Indianapolis)
  • State Representative Dale Devon (R-Granger)
  • State Representative Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington)
  • State Representative Karen Engelman (R-Georgetown)
  • State Representative Rita Fleming (D-Jeffersonville)
  • State Representative Chuck Goodrich (R-Nobelsville)
  • State Representative Carey Hamilton (D-Indianapolis)
  • State Representative Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo)
  • State Representative Christopher Judy (R-Avilla)
  • State Representative Ryan Lauer (R-Columbus)
  • State Representative Matt Lehman (R-Berne)
  • State Representative Randall Lyness (R-West Harrison)
  • State Representative Chris May (R-Bedford)
  • State Representative Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville)
  • State Representative Bob Morris (R-Ft Wayne)
  • State Representative Curt Nisly (R-Goshen)
  • State Representative Jim Pressel (R-Rolling Prairie)
  • State Representative Robin Shackleford (D-Indianapolis)
  • State Representative Dollyne Sherman (R-Indianapolis)
  • State Representative Holli Sullivan (R-Evansville)
  • State Representative Jerry Torr (R-Carmel)
  • State Representative Tim Wesco (R-Osceloa)
  • State Representative Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville)
  • Fred Payne, Commissioner of Indiana Department of Workforce Development
  • Jennifer Sullivan, Secretary of the Family & Social Services Administration
  • Teresa Lubbers, Commissioner of Higher Education

Special Venue Instructions

LOCATION | The event is located in the South Atrium of the 4th floor of the Statehouse at 200 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204. The Indiana Statehouse is located at the corner of Capitol and Washington Street in downtown Indianapolis. Downtown Indy maps and guides can be found here.

PARKING | Nearby and affordable parking can be found at the Circle Centre Mall garage (entrances on Washington, Maryland, Illinois, and Georgia Street). Additional parking options can be found here.

PUBLIC ENTRANCES & SECURITY | You will enter the Statehouse using the upper level east doors, from Capitol Avenue and Market Street. Upon entering, you will walk down the corridor to the main atrium, then take the elevator located on your left to the fourth floor. People with mobility disabilities will enter the Statehouse through the lower level, west doors, from Senate Avenue (Robert D. Orr Plaza).

Every visitor will be required to pass through metal detectors and all bags and packages will be x-rayed and may be subject to further inspection. The Indiana Department of Administration has instituted security measures throughout the capitol building. These measures include weapons restrictions inside government center buildings and designated visitor entrances to the Statehouse.

Find More By
Event type 
Recovery to Resilience: Self-Leadership
Young Leaders in Philanthropy
Virtual Meeting
Youth Philanthropy Peer Community
Virtual Meeting
Maintaining Human Connection - 6 months later...